Amanda Basham

I’m a professional runner, endurance coach and personal trainer living in Logan, UT. I’ve been a runner since high school but started running trails and ultras a few years ago. I was living in Portland, OR at the time so I had Forest Park in my backyard. I was instantly hooked and started running longer and longer.

I graduated from Oregon State University with a BS in Exercise Science. I always knew I wanted to be in health and fitness in some way. I now work as a Trainer for iFit and own my own coaching business.

I’ve had an awesome ride, but it’s far from over. I’ve learned a lot and met the best people I know through running. It’s become much more than a hobby. It’s a way of life.

When I’m not training or competing, I love to: Play with my Pomeranians, Jackson & Charles, hang out with friends & family, and travel.

Something that very few people know about me is: I love trucks & country music. Although that’s not much of a secret any more…

A good title for my autobiography would be:  Relentless

My favorite moment or achievement to date is:   My best performance was Western States, but my favorite race so far was 2016 TransRockies. It’s like adult summer camp.

The toughest moment I’ve ever experienced in a race is:   Western States the last 10 miles. Zach Miller was pacing me and told me I could get top 5.  All I wanted to do was lay down and cry but he made me sprint instead.

I live in Logan, UT  because: I have a rad job in a beautiful mountain town.

One thing I hope to achieve this year is:  A top 5 finish at Western States again and to get out of my comfort zone. I’m more of a runner than a gnarly mountain course girl so I’m doing a few more things in that realm.

The event on my bucket list is:   UTMB & Transvulcania. I’ll be doing UTMB this year and hoping for Transvulcania next year.

My pre-race superstition is:   I really don’t have one. I just try to sleep a ton and eat all the things!